Book Buying Gift Guide

Book buying gift guide: Here’s a quick shopping guide to some great books your friends or family might enjoy receiving as a gift this year…or maybe you just want to treat yourself.

For Parents and Educators

Cover of the book Raising a Child with Dyslexia: What Every Parent Needs to Know by Don M. Winn.
The perfect handbook for parents and teachers of dyslexic learners

Where most books fall short—covering the emotional, social, and internal toll of dyslexia—this book excels in offering a well-rounded overview and a balanced action plan that can be started right away. If you’re looking for results, then this is a must-read.

Learn why so many students fail to learn to read and how to help your child

If you are a parent who feels the schools have failed to teach your child to read, an educator seeking greater insight into the best literacy practices for all children, or a parent of a preschooler hoping your child gets off to a good start, then this book is for you.

Cover of the book Failing Students or Failing Schools? A Parent's Guide to Reading Instruction and Intervention by Faith Borkowsky.

Picture Books

Cover of the picture book There's a Monkey in My Backpack by Don M. Winn.
A fantastic book for explaining dyslexia to preschoolers

“A wonderfully fun and clever way for a dyslexic child to understand why learning can be difficult.” —A Wishing Shelf Book Review

This boldly illustrated book is a great read-aloud for starting conversations about dyslexia. In this story, a monkey representing dyslexia is Anna’s constant companion. Although dyslexia makes a lot of difficulties for her, it also helps her in many ways she initially did not suspect.

The covers of the Don M. Win Cardboard Box Adventures Picture Book Collection Volumes 1 and 2.
The best of Cardboard Box Adventures picture books

Volumes 1 and 2 of the Don M. Winn Cardboard Box Adventures Picture Book Collections each feature four classic modern fables, ideal for teaching and discussing. View the videos below for more information about the individual stories in each book.

Volume One

  • The Tortoise and the Hairpiece
  • The Incredible Martin O’Shea
  • Shelby the Cat
  • The Watch Cat

Volume Two

  • Chipper the Clown
  • Chipper and the Unicycle
  • The Higgledy-Piggledy Pigeon
  • Twitch the Squirrel and the Forbidden Bridge

Chapter Books

Cover of the book Sir Kaye the Boy Knight Book One: The Knighting of Sir Kaye by Don M. Winn.
From an eleven-year-old reader:

“This is my new favorite book. It’s adventurous, funny, and taught me about being chivalrous. I also like that it is a series because instead of just having one book, you get several, and so the adventure continues.”

When wicked and heroic knights clash, one ordinary boy uncovers an extraordinary destiny… “A fantastic, fun-filled adventure. Highly recommended.” —Wishing Shelf Book Awards

Wicked knights roam the land of Knox since the death of the king—they go where they want, do what they want, take what they want, and never help anyone but themselves.

The new young queen dreams of a band of chivalrous knights who will protect her people from danger. Meanwhile, in a village on the edge of a distant forest, twelve-year-old Kaye dreams of one day becoming a heroic knight like his father.

A good deed, a daring rescue, and a queen’s risky plan change everything for Kaye. Now newly knighted, he and his best friend Reggie must face his father’s oldest enemy—the mighty Sir Melchor. Can they triumph over him in the castle tournament, or will they disgrace the queen forever?

Perfect for fans and graduates of the Magic Treehouse The Knight at Dawn, the Magic Treehouse the Merlin Missions books, and The Boxcar Children books. Also ideal for fans of Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events.

Winner of six book awards, including best series, this chapter book for ages 8–12 reminds readers that there’s more to being a knight than being an adult. Kindness, courage, and valor know no age. Filled with humor, heart, fun, and adventure, this book makes a perfect gift! Instill a life-long love of reading in your child with this tale of courage, friendship, and kindness.

Books in the Sir Kaye series include Book One: The Knighting of Sir KayeBook Two: The Lost Castle TreasureBook Three: Legend of the Forest BeastBook Four: The Eldridge Conspiracy, and two companion stories called Mystery of the White Knight and Mystery of the King’s Shadow, both shorter stand-alone eBooks.

The four main Sir Kaye books are available in softcover, hardcover, eBook, and audio book format. Mystery of the White Knight is available as an eBook or audio book. Mystery of the King’s Shadow is currently only available as an eBook.

Covers of the four Sir Kaye the Boy Knight books by Don M. Winn and two supplemental books from the Sir Kaye and Friends collection also by Don M. Winn

Please share this book buying gift guide with anyone you think might like to know about these books!