Chapter Books

Cardboard Box Adventures Publishing specializes in adventure chapter books for independent readers that feature dyslexic heroes of self-reference—so young dyslexic readers can see characters who deal with similar issues to their own facing and overcoming problems with courage, determination, and integrity.

The four-book Sir Kaye the Boy Knight series of chapter books follows the adventures of twelve-year-old Kaye as he copes with becoming the youngest knight in the medieval kingdom of Knox.

The Sir Kaye and Friends books are shorter chapter books for newly independent readers that feature characters from the Sir Kaye the Boy Knight series in their own standalone adventures.

Covers of the four Sir Kaye the Boy Knight books by Don M. Winn and two supplemental books from the Sir Kaye and Friends collection also by Don M. Winn

Sir Kaye the Boy Knight Book 1: The Knighting of Sir Kaye

Don M. Winn

In The Knighting of Sir Kaye, Kaye is an ordinary boy who dreams of becoming a legendary knight like his absent father. When the new queen knights Kaye for doing a brave deed to help another person, he gets his wish a lot sooner than he expected . . . but he’s got a lot to live up to.

Can he hold his own against all the other knights who hate him? Can he outwit the terrible Sir Melchor and defeat him in the deeds-at-arms competition in which all knights in the kingdom must participate? Can he help the queen save her kingdom . . . even a little bit?

Sir Kaye the Boy Knight Book 2: The Lost Castle Treasure

Don M. Winn

The adventure continues with book two in the Sir Kaye series, The Lost Castle Treasure. The treasure house of Knox castle is empty! Now conspiracy and war threaten the kingdom while mysterious noises and unexplained events fill the castle.

As best friends Kaye, Reggie, and Beau search for the missing treasure, jealous knights plot to get rid of Kaye for good. Can Kaye find the treasure in time to save the kingdom? Or will he risk losing his knighthood forever?

Join Kaye, Reggie, and Beau as they search for hidden clues, secret passages, a lost castle treasure, and their place in the world in this fast-paced adventure.

Sir Kaye the Boy Knight Book 3: Legend of the Forest Beast

Don M. Winn

Legend of the Forest Beast is the third book in the Sir Kaye series of adventure chapter books for kids. The beloved tutor Alchir has vanished! And a dangerous criminal with a grudge against Alchir has just escaped from prison.

Kaye is determined to find the tutor and earn a fine reputation as a knight. The search leads Kaye, Reggie, Beau, and Alchir’s daughter Layla to a sinister manor house at the edge of a dark forest where nearby villagers live in terror of a deadly monster.

As they investigate the mystery of the forest beast, they uncover a terrible plot that could destroy Knox. When there’s no one to turn to for help, can they save the kingdom—and their lives—by themselves?

Sir Kaye the Boy Knight Book 4: The Eldridge Conspiracy

Don M. Winn

The Eldridge Conspiracy is the final book in the Sir Kaye series. Kaye’s father is in danger!

Kaye and his friends Reggie and Beau enter Eldridge in search of the only man who can save Kaye’s father. During their journey, they encounter and make a powerful enemy of Baron Thomas—the self-proclaimed heir to the throne of Eldridge—who also has his sights set on ruling the country of Knox.

Together, the boys dodge the baron’s henchmen and race against time to stop an assassination that would plunge the two kingdoms into war in this exciting conclusion to the series.

Mystery of the White Knight: A Sir Kaye and Friends Story

Don M. Winn

One little boy knows a secret that can save the kingdom . . .

Beau is lonely. He has just moved to the country of Knox with his aunt, the soon-to-be-crowned queen. Then he finds a funny little boy named Bobbin, who says he escaped from the White Knight, a villain who has been making trouble throughout Knox.

When Bobbin disappears, Beau finds himself in the middle of a treacherous plot to steal the throne of Knox from his aunt. Can he save Bobbin and himself and the kingdom?

Mystery of the King's Shadow: A Sir Kaye and Friends Story

Don M. Winn

A family mystery may be the key to finding a lost treasure . . .

Reggie has problems. His friends are mean to him. His aunt and cousin won’t speak to him or his parents—and it’s all his fault. His father wants him to learn to read, but he just can’t seem to do it. Then he makes a huge mistake and gets thrown out of school.

Reggie hides this from his father with the help of a reading tutor named Brin, who knows about a treasure that might be hidden inside Reggie’s own house! With his new friend, a new way of learning that actually seems to work, and a treasure to find, Reggie is finally living the adventurous life he’s always wanted . . . or is he?

where to buy Don M. Winn's Books:

One Comment Add yours

  1. Cynthia Deleon-Melvin says:

    Thank you so much for the information. I am going to buy your books for my granddaughter to help her read better. Thank you again!

Leave a Reply